Svininfluensan goes 15mm

Hi there sporadic readers! Long time no see!
I'm not quite dead, but life takes it's toll.
 
Lately I've been playing around a bit with some Flames of War miniatures, so I'd thought I'd share a few pics.
 
Enjoy!
 
First of is one half of a new MG team. Here is the loader, with his ammo box. To the left is the guy I got it from. I will probably replace his with a panzerfaust or something like that. Quite simple conversion, jet striking I think. I like variation, even in this scale. Some cutting of the trousers and refilling with green stuff was necessary. I've also given him a helmet cover.
 
The second half of the MG team of course consists of the gunner. He's taking a chance shot. No heavy firing from this position. The model itself is the gunner from the Sd Kfz 251/1 ausf. D, by Battlefront. The gun though is swapped for an MG 34 from the PSC Stowage box. It's slightly larger, but I like the look. (Interestingly, the size is the same as their MGs from The backpack comes from one of the guys in the PSC Late War Heavy Weapon box. And lastly he has a sculpted MG pouch. Not to forget!
 
Another little playing around resulted in this Rottenführer (Corporal sort of) with Gewehr and with scope. Issued to some underoffizers.
 
Another MG gunner. Ordinary rifle bloke from Open Fire! Also with a gun from Plastic soldiers stowage box. This time a MG 42. Sadly both sides of the pipe shows the small holed so I scratched a bit with a knife to give it a nice one line. This is a problem with several kits. Both from PSC and Battlefront (Battlefronts sdkfz 251's MG 42 is made the same erring way, and both the plastic soldiers stowage box and the Normandy grenadier box, which I think is the exact same MG's to be fair.) Only a small deal of modeling here. The MG pouch, extra details on the gun, a new left hand and ammo clip hanging down on his front.
 
And an Obersturmführer! (Lieutenant). The legs are from one of the Open Fire officers, and the upper body from one of the NCOs. As Officers in the German army also was issued MP 40s and becouse it's stupid to run around to much in a hat instead of helmet, I did this small merge. The upper body of the officer might end up as a medic or something. I also scratches of the suspenders, and added larger shoulder tags and arm cuffs.
 
Thanks for watching and as a small treat I painted up an captured Sherman, just for you fellas!
It's one of the Open Fire one, so the tracks a horribly casted and a bit of cutting and sculpting was needed to fix the hull. German tank comander from PSC's stowage box.
 
Aslo please note that all the models are in scale 1/100, or there about, so the figures are about 16 - 17mm tall excluding the bases and the Sherman 27 mm high.
 
Cheers! Over and Out!
 
 
 

RSS 2.0